InfoTrack Statement on 2020 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race

Super Maxi InfoTrack’s Skipper Christian Beck has congratulated the crew on their hard work and training to prepare for the 2020 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race that was cancelled tonight.

“Just a few days ago I was feeling very lucky to be in this place with an amazing crew and as the favourite to win the race,” said Christian. “It’s devastating for that to change so quickly. I am so proud of this crew that not only prepared the boat and pulled together a fantastic team in such a short time, but who also received line honours in all the lead up races – Cabbage Tree Island Race, the Solas Big Boat Challenge and the Saturday short race.

“This year more than ever, the InfoTrack business culture was very aligned to the culture on the boat, and it was a real pleasure to see the welcoming professional sailors and our staff first timers working so effectively and well together. It was a huge pleasure to be a part of.

I cannot thank the crew enough and all we can do is come back next year and win the race – fifth time lucky!”

Boat Captain Ty Oxley commented: “As a team we gave it everything in our preparation and training and I am very proud of what we have achieved. A huge thank you to everyone for building an amazing team together and putting in such an incredible effort”.

Tony Mutter, Sailing Master added: “I am also very proud of the efforts every single crew member put into making the boat ready, it was a short time and intense. We had hoped to break a record setting pace this year and all we can do now is look forward to next year. Thanks also to InfoTrack for your continued support.”

Most of the 2020 InfoTrack crew have raced together on InfoTrack for the last four years including: Christian Beck, Owner/Skipper; Tony Mutter, Sailing Master; Chris Nicholson, Tactician; Ty Oxley, Boat Captain; Bradshaw Kellett, Navigator; Lucas Chapman; Alex Gough; Mitchell White; Mustafa Ingham and Ryan Philips. Joining the crew for the first time this year were sailors Al Turner, Troy Trindle, Sam Newton, Charlie Wyatt and Matt Pearce.

The Sydney to Hobart first timers were: Ira Kudrisahova, Head of Development and Brendan Smart, Chief Revenue Officer from InfoTrack; Rachel Williams, software developer, LEAP and Matt Jackson, General Manager, CreditorWatch. The employees were chosen to participate as a reward and recognition for their longevity and excellence at work.

In 2019, InfoTrack won the Jack Rooklyn Memorial Trophy and Cannon as the First Yacht out of Sydney Heads, while also receiving CYCA Trophies for second over the line and third in IRC Division 0.

Share this article on social